Color Themes
About Us  Recognitions   Awards & Accreditations  Bongaigaon Refinery bestowed Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar 2006    
Awards & Accreditations
Bongaigaon Refinery bestowed Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar 2006
The first among Indian Refineries to receive the award
H.E. Ms. Pratibha Patil, President of India, presented Mr. Sarthak Behuria, Chairman, the prestigious Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar 2006 in the 'Organisation' category at a function held on June 5, 2009 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi, under the aegis of Ministry of Environment & Forests. A silver lotus trophy, citation along with a cash prize was presented to the Chairman.

H. E. President in her lucid address said, "As long there are mountains and green trees on this earth, the earth and our future generations will survive. So to save our future generations the responsibility rests on each citizen of this country to protect, conserve and save the environment." She added that our former Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Gandhi's vision of One Earth-One Environment One Humanity needs to be imbibed and propagated on a global platform.

Bongaigaon Refinery is the first amongst Indian refineries and second among industry, both in the private and public sector, to be presented with this prestigious award, in recognition of its outstanding contribution to environmental conservation and for creating awareness in the Chirang region of Assam. It would be significant to recall that the foundation stone of Bongaigaon Refinery was laid by Late Smt. Indira Gandhi, the then Prime Minister of India, on January 19, 1972.

Mr. B. N. Bankapur, Director (Refineries) and Mr. A Saran, Executive Director, along with his team members shared the citation which read, "The Bongaigaon Refinery has done commendable work in preserving natural resources in Assam. The company has been promoting clean and eco-friendly technologies and has been successful in achieving zero effluent discharge and recycling of treated effluent. There has been a co-benefit in the form of a substantial reduction in water requirement. A herbal and orchid garden 'Nandan Kanan' has been developed for promoting traditional knowledge. Over 66, 000 trees of different species have been planted."

The Environmental Prize Committee constituted under the Chairmanship of Hon'ble Vice President of India select the awardees. The nomination for the award can be recommended by any citizen of India. Self nominations are not considered. Short listing of the nomination is carried out by three Expert Members selected by the Prime Minister's Office comprising the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Minister of Environment & Forests, Secretary of the Ministry of Environment & Forests and 3 expert members.

Updated on June 05, 2009
Copyright © Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. [ Terms of use | Privacy policy ]